HomePublic RecordsNational Governance Time LinesProprietary Governments

Proprietary Governments

List of Heads of Government of the Bahamas

(Dates in italics indicate de facto continuation of office)

1955 to 1959 Roland Theodore Symonette, Chief Minister UBP  
1959 to 7 January 1964 Sir Roland Theodore Symonette, Prime Minister UBP  
7 January 1964 to 16 January 1967 Sir Roland Theodore Symonette, Prime Minister UBP nickname: Pop Symonette
16 January 1967 to 1969 Lynden Oscar Pindling, Prime Minister PLP  
The Commonwealth of the Bahama Islands
1969 to 10 July 1973 Lynden Oscar Pindling, Prime Minister PLP  
10 July 1973 Independence as The Commonwealth of The Bahamas
10 July 1973 to 1983 Lynden Oscar Pindling, Prime Minister PLP  
1983 to 21 August 1992 Sir Lynden Oscar Pindling, Prime Minister PLP  
21 August 1992 to 3 May 2002 Hubert Alexander Ingraham, Prime Minister FNM  
3 May 2002 to 4 May 2007 Perry Gladstone Christie, Prime Minister PLP  
4 May 2007 to present Hubert Alexander Ingraham, Prime Minister FNM  

National Symbols

Ultimate Browsers SupportLike many nations, The Bahamas has a number of national symbols, including, a fish, a tree, a bird ...


Search the Invisible Web

Great Docs and SupportIn addition to a large collection of resources you may find accessible on the Internet and in your public library, even more information can be found by accessing the invisible web of database libraries...

Get Connected ...

News Archives

Native RTL SupportSometimes you look to go back in order to get ahead on a project. Our article archives may prove useful in giving your research that extra punch ... 

View Archive ...